Right Action in Buddhism – The Fourth Spoke of the Wheel

right action in buddhism

Right Action in Buddhism Right Action in Buddhism is the second component of ethical conduct and can be better translated from the Pali term Samma-kammanta as “right conduct”.  This branch of the Eight-fold Path is concerned with morally upright actions that are not harmful to the oneself and others. I think we can find evidence of similar kinds of commandments in other religions as well.  The most obvious example of this is Christianity with its Ten Commandments.  In the world of monastic Buddhism they follow the guidelines discussed below as if they were commandments.  While for lay people it isn’t … Continue reading

Right Speech in Buddhism – The Third Spoke of the Wheel

right speech in buddhism

Right Speech in Buddhism   Now that we’ve gone over the first part of the The Eight-fold path, we move on to the next category which is Ethical Conduct and is made up of Right Speech, Right Action, and Right Livelihood. This post builds from the last post when I recommended that we think before we speak and not to speak unless we have something true, helpful, inspiring, necessary and kind. In the Buddha’s instructions to his disciples which was the monastic community, he said the following about those disciples who admonish one another as found in Anguttara Nikaya V: “Five … Continue reading

Right Intention in Buddhism – The Second Spoke of the Wheel

right intention in buddhism

Right Intention in Buddhism The second branch of the Eight-fold Path is called Right Intention in Buddhism or “Right Thought” as it is sometimes called. Right Intention together with Right View are needed to cultivate wisdom (prajna).  The Pali term for this is “Samma Sankappa”, with the word Sankappa roughly translated as “purpose, intention, resolves, aspiration, motivation”. Keep in mind that although I use the word “right” to translate the word “samma”, ‘right’ doesn’t refer to a moral value but rather refers to that which is consistent with the Dharma (teachings of the Buddha). You need both Right View and … Continue reading

Right View in Buddhism – The First Spoke of the Wheel

right view in buddhism

This is the first of a series of 8 posts where I will go into more detail about the Buddha’s Eight-fold Path.  Each post will examine each of the Eight Branches or Eight Spokes on the Wheel of Dharma and I’ll include my own thoughts and reflections. The Eight-fold Path is divided into three categories: Wisdom (Right View, Right Intention) Ethical Conduct (Right Speech, Right Action, Right Livelihood) Concentration (Right Effort, Right Mindfulness, Right Concentration) Right View in Buddhism Right View in Buddhism, which is also known as Right Understanding is the first branch of the Eightfold Path and is the … Continue reading

The Three Jewels in Buddhism – Taking Refuge

the three jewels in buddhism

The Three Jewels in Buddhism: Taking refuge in the Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha The Three Jewels in Buddhism are also known as the “Three Treasures”, “Three Refuges”, or simply the “Triple Gem” are said to be essential to attain enlightenment.  Without the Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha we continue to wander in samsara. Although the recitation of the chant to take refuge in the Three Jewels formally makes one a Buddhist in some parts of the world, this is not always the case in today’s modern Western world. In fact, the Dalai Lama doesn’t advise formally becoming a Buddhist but rather … Continue reading